About Us

How the Foundation Began

The Greater Brewton Foundation began as a public foundation in 1994. The Foundation’s mission is to provide support for the health, welfare, education, culture, recreation and neighborhood improvement in the Greater Brewton area. The first three grants awarded in 1995 went to the Brewton Public Library, Brewton City Schools and the Tree and Beautification Board. Grants continue to be awarded annually, in November, providing support over the years for special projects to more than thirty different non-profits: specifically eight public schools, three governmental entities, four healthcare organizations, three food pantries, three public safety providers and ten assorted non-profits (ie. Habitat, Red Cross, YMCA, Benevolent Fund).


  • Sandra Weaver established a fund for the public library.  Annually, the income from that fund is distributed automatically to the Brewton Public Library.

Scholarship Endowments–

  • In 2000, the Nannie Hainje Scholarship was created by Dr. Foo Chu to honor his wife’s memory. Scholarships from this fund are renewable if a recipient maintains good grades and reapplies. 
  • The Brewton City Schools began an endowment for scholarships to be awarded to graduates of T. R. Miller High School. Money for the T.R. Miller Scholarship is solicited at Homecoming each.year.
  • In 2011, after the tragic death of T. R. Miller High School Principal Donnie Rotch, his wife established a scholarship fund in his memory. The first scholarships were awarded in 2012. 
  • In 2016, the E.O. Wilson Scholarship was created by the renowned biologist, theorist, naturalist and author of the same name.  This scholarship is given to encourage a T.R. Miller High School senior planning to major in biology or one of the natural sciences.
  • In that same year, the Evelyn Byrd Patton Scholarship was created posthumously by Ms. Patton to encourage students to pursue higher education.  Two scholarships are awarded annually–one to a W. S. Neal graduating senior and one to a T.R. Miller graduating senior.
  • In 2017, the Shane Prater Scholarship was created in memory of Shane by classmate & friend, Justin Lambert.  It is given annually to graduate(s) of T.R.Miller.
  • In 2019, the Curtis Glaize Memorial Scholarship was created by Curtis’ friends and family after his untimely death. In recognition of Curtis’ love of teaching, scholarships will be awarded to a graduate of T.R. Miller High School and of Benjamin Russell High School who plan to pursue an education degree.

The Foundation appreciates the opportunity to give back to area students in a way that supports their further growth and development. Contact us if you or someone you know is interested in endowing a scholarship.


In 2013, the family of Louise Garrett donated her remaining watercolors (almost 300 pieces) to the Foundation. The work was appraised and the prices on this site reflect that appraisal. Some of the paintings were sold online or at the Blueberry Festival, Art in the Park, Choo Choo Market, Holiday Kick-off or at the L House. Currently, the art is housed at Antigone’s located Downtown Brewton on 110 St. Joseph. You can purchase any of the remaining pieces at that location and the funds will still go to support the work of the Foundation. We hope you will consider buying a piece for yourself or as a gift.

You can be a part of the work of the Foundation by making a sustaining member contribution or by sending a gift in memory or in honor of someone special. If you donate online, please use the “add special instructions to the seller” location to indicate if your donation is a memorial or an honorarium and to identify your preferences about whether your donation goes into the general fund, the library fund or one of the scholarship funds. You may also be part of a non-profit that needs to submit a grant request in October.

All board members are volunteers furnishing their expertise for the administration of the Foundation at no cost.

Board Members

Founding Board Members– Hermine Downing and Suzanne Kirby retired from the board after more than 20 years of service. John David Finlay, chairman, and Mitchell Neese, treasurer, also served more than 20 years in those positions but have passed away. We are grateful for the leadership and direction these individuals provided the board.

Current Board Members– Elaine Catoe, Kirk Garrett, Loletta Redmon Jackson, Mayor Yank Lovelace, Susan Miller, Paul Owens, Ann Peach, Russell Smith, Stephanie Walker